A visiting scholar’s perspective

After spending a year as a visiting scholar at CEMMS, Yinghua Zhao (Lecturer at the School of Foreign Studies, Minzu University of China) shares her experiences of Sussex.

I spent one year at the School of English as a visiting scholar studying Early Modern literature. Upon my arrival I felt the welcoming and vibrant atmosphere of the School. The curriculum at the School is based on modules, which gives students great flexibility to customise their learning experience and choose from a wide range of interdisciplinary topics they’re interested in. Attending a series of courses given by Professor Hadfield and other teachers in the field of Early Modern study, I was greatly impressed by the faculty’s expertise, professionalism and dedication. Most of these teachers are also active participants in the events hosted by the Centre for Early Modern and Medieval Studies. Thanks for the invitation from the Centre’s director Professor Hadfield, I had the opportunity to participate a variety of its events. The Centre held lectures regularly, with the speakers coming from across the country and the world. Their lectures covered diverse topics, and from the lectures and the exchanges with the academics I came to be inspired by many new ideas and perspectives on Early Modern study. Besides, the library of the University is an exciting place. I was particularly impressed by the library’s Special Collections where I attended a course on Renaissance and for the first time in my life I came into a direct contact with medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. Being able to access these first-hand materials is absolutely an exciting and cherishable experience for me. Now back in China teaching and studying English literature, I’m still benefiting from what I learned at Sussex. I believe the days I spent at Sussex will be a shaping influence in my personal and professional life.

Yinghua Zhao

Leave a Reply

